Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Match Report: Accrington Stanley 4-1 Tranmere Rovers

27 April 2024

Match Reports

Match Report: Accrington Stanley 4-1 Tranmere Rovers

27 April 2024

Tranmere Rovers were defeated 4-1 by Accrington Stanley in their final game of the 2023/24 season.

Rovers took an early lead after just two minutes when Rob Apter won a free kick on the edge of the box. Regan Hendry laid it off for Luke Norris, who blasted home past Radek Vitek.

Just two minutes later, Accrington equalised through Lewis Shipley from a corner.

The game calmed somewhat after a frantic start, Rovers restricting Accrington to shots from distance in the first period.

Rob Apter found space for a shot in the box 20 minutes into the game but saw his effort rise over the bar.

Eleven minutes from the break, Vitek was forced to tip the ball behind as Regan Hendry’s shot from the edge of the box was heading for the bottom corner.

Hendry had another go from range three minutes from half time after a chest down from Luke Norris, but it was high over the bar.

A minute later, Shaun Whalley’s volley was deflected behind for a corner before Ben Hockenhull blocked another Accrington effort to ensure we were all square at the break.

Five minutes into the second half, Accrington won a penalty after a handball against Apter. Nolan converted to put the hosts ahead.

Two minutes after the converted penalty, Accrington scored again through Alex Henderson to make it 3-1.

An hour into the game, Whalley went close again from the edge of the box but his shot drifted narrowly wide of the post.

Nine minutes from time, Accrington had another penalty which Nolan converted to make it 4-1, which is how it finished.

Accrington Stanley: Radek Vitek, Liam Shipley, Brad Hills, Liam Coyle, Shaun Walley, Joe Gubbins, Jack Nolan, Tommy Leigh, Seamus Conneely (C), Alex Henderson, Connor O’Brien.
Substitutes: Toby Savin, Ben Woods, Matt Lowe, Joe Pritchard, Seb Quirk, Dan Martin, Josh Woods.

Tranmere Rovers: Luke McGee, Lee O’Connor, Jean Belehouan, Ben Hockenhull, James Norris, Rob Apter, Regan Hendry, Chris Merrie, Harvey Saunders, Connor Jennings (C), Luke Norris.
Substitutes: Joe Murphy, Tom Davies, Josh Hawkes, Kristian Dennis, Sam Taylor, Reece McAlear, Connor Wood.

This match report is sponsored by Just Click Marketing.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account